Tell Me Something Good

October 23, 2007

something goodI skipped on over to Margari’s blog today and read her post on privacy, being muslim, and blogging.  Her post was triggered, in turn, by a recent entry on Tariq Nelson’s blog.  It seems some muslims are concerned about what they see as the overexposure of our problems to non-muslims.  (Sound familiar?  Smells like “dirty laundry”, but I digress.)  A few people said “Hey, where is the good news about muslims?”

Sometimes we can be too focused on venting and analyzing problems.  We forget to talk about all the good stuff.  I have some positive things going on in my life.  “Wrote a song ’bout it.  Like to hear it?  Here it go:”

I am one happy woman

Because my deen is Islam

Ahhhh-hu-uh-uh!

(For those of you who didn’t catch the reference, that was an imitation of the blues singer on “In Living Color”)

I love being muslim. Love it, love it, LOVE IT! 

I love that it makes sense.

I love the emphasis in the Qur’an on learning, studying, reasoning things out for yourself.  Holding fast to this has enabled me to reject things that don’t make sense.  If you can’t prove it to me, your viewpoint is dismissed with exactly zero guilt on my part.

I love the hope of forgiveness, no matter how many times I may screw up.

I love the guidance that is clear.

I love our style of congregational prayer. Shoulder to shoulder, bowing before Allah.

I love the feeling I get at the close of Ramdhan.

I love my muslim friends, who can be counted on with advice taken from the Qur’an or the accounts of the life of the last prophet, (sallalahualaihiwasalam) when I come to them with problems.

I love the fajr prayer, starting the day off right in the stillness before sunrise.

I love islam.

3 Responses to “Tell Me Something Good”

  1. TVDinner Says:

    Ok, I’ll admit to being one of those non-Muslims (isn’t there a derogatory word for that? Kafir or something?) who has recently been lurking around Muslim blogs, you know, like yours. And in a lot of these blogs I hear women struggling with difficult situations and trying to resolve them within their own cultural contexts, which include their religious contexts. And superficially it’s nice to read a shout-out to the religion, but I really think it’s silly to worry about airing dirty laundry for all and sundry to judge.

    Let me be more specific: in all of the blogs I am reading I have never read anything at all that even sounds like, “What has my religion wrought upon me?” No doubt there are people asking that question, but for Pete’s sake, everyone in every religion goes through a crisis of faith at least once, usually in adolescence. It either strengthens your faith or it doesn’t. For me, being a non-Muslim reading Muslim women’s blogs about Muslim women’s lives has taught me several things, not the least of which is how – for lack of a better word – “normal” Islam really is.

    Look, there will always be knuckle dragging trolls with preconceived notions who will extrapolate whatever they want to see from whatever you have to say. You cannot control that. But by speaking honestly and intelligently about one’s struggles to reconcile daily life with the tenants of one’s religion I think you gain more than you realize. “You” being in general here, not specific. I have always felt a vague, unspecified respect for everyone who follows their own path no matter where it leads, but I now have a much more emotionally-based respect for honest-to-goodness Muslim women who are going about their lives. I’ve learned an immense amount Islam in my last few weeks as a lurker, and I’m grateful to all the women who have been so unabashedly honest.

    I guess I think there’s nothing to be lost by making an honest, open inquiry about anything, and so much to lose by painting a patina of perfection over something that is inherently imperfect. God, if you believe God exists, is perfect; religion, or the attempt to follow God’s path, cannot be, because it is practiced by human beings. The best we can do is our best and try to be humble in our failings.

    Yikes! I’m rambling! I hope this makes sense.

  2. Safiya Says:

    Salaam Alaikum,

    Me too! Jazak Allahu Khayran for writing that reminder.

  3. Falsa Says:

    Asalam o alaikum.
    That was pretty cool. I love all these things too:)

Leave a Reply

