The 2007 ‘Eid-al-Fitr Fashion Report

October 25, 2007

balaeve1-287x448.jpg 

Eid is the time when muslim women step out at their most Fabulous.  This ‘eid just past was no exception.  The mass of femininity streaming into the prayerhall is a swirl of sparkle and color: a candy-apple colored shalwar khameez with a stack of gold bangles glinting in the early morning sun:   An orange/green printed tunic with a long  straight skirt and a matching headress in West African style.  A green satin princess-seamed dress with bell sleeves. And of course, some

tanwhite230.giftouches of black here and there–or mostly black, depending on the community.  (Some will wear a dazzling outfit that will be seen only by their husbands, and later by other women at a “sisters only” party.  The rest of the world will see only the usual black jilbab/abaya.)

This ‘eid was no exception.  Most sisters put on their best.  I saw the most beautiful long white dress with cut out detailing along the edges of the hem, sleeves, and neckline, topped by a long white shawl.  My daughter was looking nice, masha’allah, in a white crepe dress I made for her with a gold crepe-backed satin sash.  I didn’t even realize until I woke up that morning that I hadn’t planned what I was going to wear.  I threw on a black tux with a deep red satin shirt, and a black geogette khimar (folded for opacity, of course) and ran out the door.

The atmosphere was festive and everyone was in a good mood.  I did see one woman that stuck out in the most odd way.  She wore a polo shirt, jeans, a scarf hanging around her neck, and a frown.  She came in with what I presume to be her family.  She did not look happy to be there, as if she came begrudgingly.  If it was all like that then she really ought to have stayed home.  But then, you never know.  Maybe she had the baddest outfit ever and one of the kids spilled india ink on it or something.

I plan to get started sewing for next ‘Eid next week or so.  If I get started that early and use my time well, I may be able to make something fabulous for myself.  A lady-tux is allright, but it isn’t really festive enough.

2 Responses to “The 2007 ‘Eid-al-Fitr Fashion Report”

  1. Josh Says:

    Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com

  2. Chiara Says:

    Hi, I am writing from Jerusalem and I find your blog tremendous. I see that for certain things America is even more complicated than the middle east. I am a jewish woman from Italy, and wherever I go I find greatly accomplished and charming muslim women (even next door neighboors here) and I don’t get all this fuss about muslim oppressed women. Women are often oppressed all over unfortunately, has nothing to do with religion. I pray that all women can unite in prayer and peace and affirm their grace and beauty, and their contribution to humanity, end of story. Good luck and G-d bless you. C

Leave a Reply

