You Asked for It!

October 29, 2007

list  Life is funny sometimes.  I was over at CreoleinDC’s blog reading this post:  http://creoleindc.typepad.com/rantings_of_a_creole_prin/2006/08/romanticated.html in which Monica talks about how she met her husband.  She made up “wish list” of traits etc., and she got exactly what she wanted in her dh.  The only thing she didn’t get was the one trait she had assumed:  that future hubby be a black man.

My story is somewhat similar.  I, too, had a list of things I wanted in a husband.  Certain height range, skill set, personality.  Had to be American.  I was “race open”, however I pretty much assumed that the man I would marry would most probably be black.  I mean, just look at the numbers.  If I’m not mistaken, most american muslims are black.  Significant numbers are of south asian, and arab descent.  But white muslims are very much in the minority.  So him being white did not even cross my mind as a possibility.

Like Monica, I met my dh online.  He responded to my ad, and we corresponded for a few weeks.  I was immediately drawn to his personality, and we quickly established a comfortable rapport.  When he sent his picture I was surprised.  “Oh,” I thought. “He’s white!”  In fact, as I write this, I realize that I had never met a white male muslim before.  One or two white female converts, sure, but never a guy.

I didn’t care and I knew that the most important people in my family wouldn’t either.  (In other words, yes there was a family member or two with issues.  But like I said…)  I couldn’t have DREAMED of a better husband.  Seriously.  He is 50-11 kinds of wonderful and I am spoiled rotten. (masha’allah)

I don’t know what the point of this post is other than to say that sometimes you get everything you need and more–just not exactly in the way you expected.  So search your soul, make your list.  Check it twice.  Three times, even.  Be sure that only the important stuff is on it.    Because you just might get what you asked for.

Edited to add:  I just wanted to add that I knew my dh for over a year before the wedding date, so no one thinks I married him after a few weeks. 🙂

7 Responses to “You Asked for It!”


  1. We were just talking about this on my blog. I will link to this post.

    Husband Shopping

  2. Cozy Sister Says:

    Mashallah.

  3. Zainab Says:

    As salamu alaikum

    Masha’allah,very nice blog you have here.Will come by more often.
    Do you mind if I add you to my blogroll?

    btw,thepathtoeternalbliss.blogspot

  4. patsgirl Says:

    Me, just smiling. Loved reading this post.

  5. CreoleInDC Says:

    It KILLS me how much we have in common! LOLOLOLOL!

    SMOOCHES PRINCESS!

  6. Nakia Says:

    Salaam, Sister. Your story sounds similar to mine. We also met online but he’s Canadian and his parents are from India. I have to say, Allah found me a better match than I put on my list because he added some extra nice things that I didn’t write down, MashaALLAH. Nice blog by the way!

  7. Violet Says:

    This is very encouraging to hear.

Leave a Reply

