The History of Bean Pies

December 17, 2007

http://www.linktv.org/onenation/films/view/131

 Me, I love a good bean pie.  You always know when you are at a black american muslim event because there will be a tableful of the unique confection, sometimes more.  Over the years, many variations have developed.  I think the classic is still my favorite.

5 Responses to “The History of Bean Pies”


  1. As Salaam Alaikum sister, I stumbled upon your blog yesterday. I’ve enjoyed reading so far! I too, love a good bean pie:) It was one of the featured desserts at our wedding and the caterer (although she had never previously heard of it) could not get them on the table fast enough! People were talking about it for months! alhamdulillah!!


  2. As Salaam Alaikum sister, I just started reading your blog from a post “creoleindc” and I enjoy it! I must say that I too, LOVE a good bean pie. We had them as a featured dessert at our wedding and the caterer (who hadn’t heard of such a thing before) couldn’t keep them on the table! Alhamdulillah keep up the good work!!

  3. That Lady Says:

    As Salaam Alaikum sister!! I am reading your blog courtesy of a link from creoleindc! I love your posts! I too, love a good bean pie! We had them at our wedding and the caterer (who hadn’t really heard of it before) couldn’t keep it on the table! People were talking about it for months! Alhamdulillah keep up the good work!!

  4. That Lady Says:

    As Salaam Alaikum , that is acutally me all three times up there. My computer was acting up and I didn’t know they all went through..oops:/ You can delete two if you want.

  5. Tiffany Green-Abdullah Says:

    My Great Aunt created the bean pie made famous by the Nation of Islam. She was pioneer in the Nation going back to its origin. If you want more information, please email me.

Leave a Reply

