It’s Hot

June 11, 2008

It was h-o-t today. H-O-T.

I was trying to think of what I could wear that wouldn’t be too hot.  Moleskin skirts were out, so were jeans.  Didn’t have a long enough top that matched my linen/cotton pants.  Finally I remembered that I made a white cotton skirt last year, which happened to be–if you can believe it–ironed and hanging up in the closet! (FL is not the most organized sister around, unforunately).  So I wore that with a long-sleeved white cotton shirt, white leggings (I have a mild case of paranoia with skirts) and a polyester scarf.

Yep, you read it right. POLYESTER! I made sure to stop by the joann and pick up some white cotton to make a proper summer scarf.  While I was there I also picked up a black/white print.  I need some variety.

Organica had a post up about the comments muslim women get in the summertime.  People sometimes ask, “Aren’t you hot?”  Sometimes I want to say, “Dude it’s 106 flipping degrees. Of course I’m hot!”  But I don’t say that, most people don’t mean any harm.

Truth is, wearing light colored, cotton clothing is alot more comfortable, to me anyway, than having the sun beating directly down on my skin.  Tip for my sisters:  wet your overscarf.  The heat will evaporate the moisture, cooling you off without you having to sweat.  If you’re wearing a gauzy shirt over a t-shirt you can lightly spritz the out layer too for the same effect.

Stay cool!

5 Responses to “It’s Hot”

  1. UmmAslam Says:

    As Salaamu Alaikum I do that too, I will wet my under scarf and leave my hair wet. Another way of keeping cool Insha Allah

  2. Felicity Graham Says:

    At the moment, the weather is in and out, hot one day, wet the next. I mostly wear black trousers adn ballet pumps.

  3. foreverloyal Says:

    uhh… felicity you do wear a top too, right? 😉

  4. amista Says:

    Nice tips on wetting the scarf and spritzing the shirt. For some reason, I haven’t heard of this…will file away for the next heat wave. Just hope I don’t forget! -ASA.

Leave a Reply

