Well, DUH!

August 12, 2008

a necessary sewing tool

a necessary sewing tool

So I’m making curtain panels for the master bedroom.  Yeah I know it’s taking forever but I have a bunch of kids under ten, have had to run the big ones to camp, chase the little ones around and clean their bums, weed the garden, do the shopping, etc.  Plus I have to have my internet time… (shut up!)

Mr. Foreverloyal put the first one up about 2 weeks ago and observed that it didn’t look quite right.  We determined that even though the windows are narrow, they should have two panels instead of one.  I also realized I had probably made a significant error, but I kept that to myself.  Anyway, yay more work for me.

Anyway, so I start work on panel number three, and decided I would, um, PRESS THE SEAMS as I sewed.  I had previously figured that since I wasn’t making clothing, maybe it wouldn’t matter.  It was just a big rectangle, so not pressing wasn’t a big deal, right?  Wrong.  When I took the time to do it right instead of cutting corners, I was amazed, and so was my husband.

He put up the new panel, and the other not-so-great panel this past weekend.  He told me that the new one looks “professionally done.”  He was impressed.  Me–beaming with pride (I like to impress my husband).  So I have three more to make, and I will be pressing those seams.  When they are done I will take down the two not-so-great ones and see if some belated pressing will make a difference.

I can’t believe I skipped that step before.  And to think, I have aspirations of being the muslim Erica B.

Er, don’t tell Erica B. about this, okay?

Leave a Reply

