Making a Fuss

August 27, 2008

I went out of town for a week with the kids recently.

I thought that while I was gone, Mr. Foreverloyal would have a good time.

I pictured him being able to sleep without the a little knee in his back. (Sometimes the kids still sneak into the bed)  I imagined him working out without tripping over toddlers and using the computer without children pleading to be let in to see him.  He also had a few home improvement projects planned too, which are always easier to complete without small children around.

Don’t get me wrong, Mr. Foreverloyal loves his kids.  But we all need a little break now and again.  Absence makes the heart grow fonder, and all that.

We spoke on the phone the first day I was gone, all was well. The next two days I couldn’t reach him, even at work.  Mr. Foreverloyal NEVER misses work, and I was starting to get worried.  Finally I get a call from him.  He had been in bed really sick with a fever.  I asked him had he taken any of the supplements I had and he said he could barely get out of bed.

Poor guy

Poor guy

I was sooo happy to get home a couple of days later.  I’ve been getting him water and going to the store for enriched juice (C-Boost from Bolthouse Farms, very good). Making him soup and tea, keeping the kids from cannonballing into his abdomen, and of course making sure he takes his supplements.  He’s back at work but is coming home early, and he’s sent straight to bed for more pampering.

With all the little kids running around here you’d think I’d be annoyed at more running about, but I’m actually glad to shower him with the attention.  I think, insha’allah, he’ll be all better in a few days.

That’s another benefit to a good marriage: having someone to fuss over you when you’re sick.

One Response to “Making a Fuss”

  1. Felicity Says:

    So true!

Leave a Reply

