Get Yourself a Handyman

October 7, 2008

I’m very grateful to be able to say that Mr. Foreverloyal is handy around the house.  He  has taken apart and fixed a garbage disposal, a washing machine (turns out there was a bobby pin in it, don’t know how that got in there), and built a loft in our garage so that we could have more storage.

It saves alot of money, but nevermind that.  There is something really appealing about a guy breaking out a circular saw, drill and level and building a structure from scratch.  It’s almost primal, makes a woman feel like her man is a manly man!

It was also so cute to see #1 son imitating  his dad.  While Mr. Foreverloyal was building, his oldest son was in a corner of the garage with his toy circular saw, pretending to cut a scrap piece of 2×4.  It’s good to know that insha’allah, my sons too will grow up and be able to build and fix things.

He’s got plans to build a small retaining wall in the backyard and rip out a small dead evergreen in the front.  Me, I need to order the tulips and pick up some mulch.  Every great handyman needs an assistant to help with the details.

4 Responses to “Get Yourself a Handyman”

  1. sherrieh Says:

    I too married a man who is a Jack of all trades. I’m delighted that I did since I have book and heart learning, but no hands-on stuff. Read Love My Journey and go on a voyage of self discovery! Check it out at http://www.sherrieh.wordpress.com. If you want to know what energy is in the air when you talk to your sweetheart, then see how the Moon influences us all emotionally on my blog at http://www.astromoon.wordpress.com. Angel blessings to you!

  2. midori Says:

    My opinions on relationships has changed so much. I’m very independent and in the past, that independence caused me to feel and act like I could do everything on my own. While I can do most things on my own, I realize that I do like the idea of having a take charge man. I would love to meet someone who was loving, smart and handy with a circular saw!

  3. foreverloyal Says:

    I’m telling you Midori, they are out there!

  4. Chi-Chi Says:

    LoL . . . Foreverloyal! Oh, I completely agree. Doesn’t it just melt your heart when your children imitate their daddy? I can’t think of many other things that I have seen/experienced in my life that give me so much joy and let me know just how blessed I am.

    And you’re right, every great handyman needs a great assistant (I’m great at ordering things and I do a mean job of weeding!)

    Oh, thanks for stopping by my blog!!! (((smiles)))

Leave a Reply

