Whole Morning GONE!

October 13, 2008

I have been researching washers and deep-freezers for the past 6 hours. 

The house is a mess: kitchen floor dirty, various junk scattered in the office, about 7 loads of laundry to do.

I have decided on a Samsung washer, which is supposed to be quiet, efficient, and big enough to wash a king-sized comforter.

The freezer search, however, has not yet concluded.  I need to keep my freezer in the garage, and it seems that regular freezers and fridges are NOT to be kept in the garage.  The only freezer specifically made for such a location would be a bit more than $1,000.  Mr. Foreverloyal, “It would take a long time to recoup the investment of $1,000.  Why do you want this thing again?”

The good news, however, is that after a bit of research it seems that older freezers and fridges hold up better in a garage location.  The challenge now, is to find a good used one.

This whole researching thing was supposed to take an hour, tops. *Sigh*

2 Responses to “Whole Morning GONE!”

  1. y Says:

    My grandmother’s garage freezer just died and just looking at it I would say it was around 40 years old. Her fridge still works and its older than me (I’m 29) The one my mother has she’s had for several years and I know she didn’t buy it new

  2. foreverloyal Says:

    Hello “y”.

    I spoke to the Mr. and he refuses to get a used freezer, something about possible mold. We have agreed to purchase a new one and cross our fingers. Apparently if you get a manual defrost, non-energy star rated product your odds are better for garage survival.

    My grandparents had a deep freezer too, but they always kept it in their kitchen.

Leave a Reply

