Daddy

January 3, 2009

I ordered a cabinet and my husband put it together.  He asked our son to “help” him.

My son’s face was a mixture of rapt attention and sheer joy.  That boy loves his father.  His dad let him use the screwdriver, and explained the process as the cabinet came together bit by bit.  My son got to bring him the correct size screw for each part.

These are the moments I am grateful, all over again, for the husband and father that is Mr. Foreverloyal.

2 Responses to “Daddy”

  1. Debra Says:

    Stumbled on your blog while searching for something else, and ended up reading it for a while. Pale as I am, I can only try to understand. I have a dear blond friend who is married to a man from India. Their children are gorgeous. My husband’s college roommate, a Jew from New York, married a woman of German descent. For a while, every fight deteriorated into “K***!” “Nazi!” Last we heard, they had been married for over 30 years.

    But I really wanted to comment on the son helping his father build the cabinet. So many grownups say “I can do it faster myself” and never give kids the chance to help. Taking the time to give instruction, to ask for the correct size screw, to teach lessons about building and working together — that is so important, so precious.

    My father (age 73) practically lives in his garage, where he has, as he puts it “every tool known to man.” He has a special workbench set up for his great-grandchildren where they can pound real nails into real wood with real hammers, and he also makes time to have them help him put something together.

    It’s something to treasure.

    I didn’t mean to ramble on. I apologize. Your story of the boy and his daddy made my eyes water. Thanks for posting.

  2. Valerie Says:

    That is so lovely, it is wonderful to have a husband and someone who wants, loves and enjoys being a father.

Leave a Reply

