Gotta Love the Nerds

July 20, 2009

Nerd.  There a few images that are conjured by this word, none of them generally associated with masculinity.

A skinny (or chubby) guy with unflattering glasses.

A guy who has not taken the time to learn how to dress in a trendy manner.

Someone incredibly book smart, who shows it all the time.  Whether it’s a new scientific discovery or a little-known historical fact, he loves to learn knew things and share them with others.

Mentally sifting thru the popular culture images, a few other things come to mind.  From Arvid on “Head of the Class”, to Steve Urkel on “Family Matters”, and all the way to my favorite nerd and the star of the above video, Simon from “Firefly”, the nerd always seems to possess other, important attributes.  Let’s take a look:

Kindness– you rarely, or never see The Nerd belittling people for kicks.  He’s the one who always has something nice to say.  He’s always the one offering help.  (It’s actually disturbing that those portrayed as “cool” are often the masters of clever put-downs and experts in thoughtless selfishness).

Courtesy– The Nerd can always be counted on to open the door for a lady, or whip out a hankerchief if one is needed.

Hygiene– The Nerd always has clean fingernails, flossed teeth, and perfectly combed hair.  His shirts are starched, and you can bet he pretreats his laundry for stains.

The Nerd’s main weakness is a lack of self-confidence.  Which is, obviously, a major problem.  Not to mention, a major turnoff.

A nerd with self esteem is a huge catch.  A kind, courteous guy who’s intelligent and comfortable in his own skin?  Jackpot!

The fictional Simon Tam, for example, used his considerable brainpower and all his resources to rescue his sister from the clutches of an evil government bent on tampering with her brain and using her as a weapon.  He put it all on the line to save her, when he could have turned a blind eye and kept his cushy life and prestigious job.  He is not tall or built like Jayne (another Firefly character), nor is he good at fighting.  But what saved his sister, and what helps his new friends, is his intellectual capacity coupled with his strong values like loyalty, love and friendship.

That’s what I call a real man.

7 Responses to “Gotta Love the Nerds”

  1. Valerie Says:

    Great comment!

  2. pioneervalleywoman Says:

    Greetings, Foreverloyal!

    This is too funny, I just enjoy it. An assessment that is right on point–nerdy guys are the real men! I played it for the husband, who is definitely “white and nerdy,” and he just loved it!

    Thanks!

  3. foreverloyal Says:

    @ Valerie, thanks.

    @ pvw: My husband has some of the traits in the song too. Although he hates mayonaisse. 🙂

  4. S. Says:

    I just wanted to comment on your post “why a black woman?”.

    I have had many people looking at me like i’m crazy when i walk with my stereotypical white boyfriend and had muslims,indians,black men, basically anything but white guys (!) look at us and especially HIM, my bf, like we are crazy.
    The looks on their faces seem to say “why is HE with HER? she is dark, she’s black….” etc.
    I think it truly shows how inferior some people, especially men feel towards white guys.
    They can’t understand why such a privileged man would lower himself to someone like myself, mind you, i don’t think this way and i don’t feel like i’ve won some prize just because he happens to be white….i find it incredibly insulting and offensive that even the thought makes me sick.
    No one makes me feel inferior because i don’t allow it.
    I see my skin as a blessing and wouldn’t want it any way else.
    I also get annoyed (because i am eritrean) that people assume i am some how (sickly) obsessed with arabs when I’m not even arab nor do i have any history of having arab in me yet some muslim arabs think it’s some privilige and i should be proud to even be compared to them (!!).
    I don’t speak arabic and i have never been to an arabic country and not until very recently did i hear that many people think east africans got our features from them! so very annoying and it makes me very angry.
    I want nothing to do with people who hate people like me.

    P.S I love nerds!

  5. Jazine Says:

    I love this post! I have fallen hard for a white nerdy guy with easygoing self-confidence. He has proven his worth to me. 🙂

    Forever Loyal I had to LOL about the description-it fits my guy to a tee! The starch shirts and groomed hair. He also has the most beautiful hands. Men with glasses are downright sexy!

  6. Andree Says:

    Nerds are hot.


  7. I love the nerds and married an über-geek. I love them so much I even write about them!

Leave a Reply

