Keep it Fly for the Hubs!

January 4, 2011

 

Looking good together

As my friend Monica says, I have to “be more vain,” and have more pride and self respect. Further, real talk, I’ve got a handsome husband who makes a good living and takes darned good care of me and my children. Trust, I’m not the only who has noticed that. He deserves a wife who keeps herself up. –Roslyn, commenting at The Sojourner’s Passport blog.

One day a few years ago, Mr. Foreverloyal and I were out to dinner at a trendy restaurant in a nice section of town.  As we were on our way to our car, a voiced called out his name, and a middle-aged man came up and said hello.  My husband introduced us, he smiled warmly and we exchanged pleasantries for a few minutes before going on our way.

That night,  I was wearing a nice outfit, including a new jacket that fit and flattered.  (As an aside, fit is at least 33% of making clothing work for you.  This was the first top I had ever bought in petite size.  It’s amazing what proper-length sleeves and no excess fabric on the back does for your look)  I looked quite presentable, which is more than what can be said for how I looked the previous week.  I would have been embarassed to meet any of his friends/business associates that night.

A husband and wife is a team, and in addition to all the other ways in which they support each other, they should each be a flattering reflection of the other.  Your appearance and comportment does have an effect on how your husband is viewed by others.  Make it a positive one.

4 Responses to “Keep it Fly for the Hubs!”

  1. Tinu Says:

    My husband and I were joking last night about “marriage branding”: the idea of your spouse or partner being an extension of you and thus a reflection of you when you’re out in public.

  2. Alee Says:

    Brian Musso is so handsome and Heather Headley is beautiful. I love them as a couple.

    Being presentable at all times is definitely something to aspire to.

  3. foreverloyal Says:

    “marriage branding”, I like that. I wonder what our brand is?
    Being a positive reflection of your spouse is another little way to show love.

  4. Mrs. F Says:

    I have been reading your blog and your insights are invaluable. PLEASE write MORE 🙂

Leave a Reply

